Are you thinking about how to know when someone deactivates their Instagram account, then you are in the right place. Telling if someone has blocked your or deactivated their account is quite difficult. We will be trying to help you by telling you the difference between a deactivated account and a blocked account. Without wasting another minute, let us start our discussion about how to know when someone deactivates their Instagram account, shall we?
Difference Between A Blocked Account And A Deactivated Account
How to tell if someone has deactivated their Instagram account or blocked you? This is the first thing that pops up in our minds when we could not find the second person’s profile on Instagram. There are cases where changing username also creates confusion which leads other users to think that they have deactivated their account.
There are certain tricks using which you can tell if someone has changed their username or not. If you have a previous conversation between you two, commented on each other’s posts, tagged each other in any post, go back to these and tap on the user’s profile. If that account still exists, you will be able to see it but with a different name. This means that they have not deactivated their account, they are using it by changing their username.
How To Know When Someone Deactivates Their Instagram Account
There is a minor difference between telling if someone deactivated their Instagram account or blocked you. There are certain methods to know when someone deactivated their Instagram account.
Check Through Message
If there was a conversation between you two, then you can see if the second person has deactivated their account or not very easily. For this, you have to go to the message section and scroll down to the profile of the user. If the username of the second person has been changed to the Instagram user, then it is most likely that he or she has deactivated their account.
In case you think that the second person has blocked you after seeing the ‘Instagram user’ written on his or her profile then you are wrong because when someone blocks you, you still see the username of that person and the profile picture.
On the other hand, the deactivated account does not show the profile picture, username, and the number of followers and following. If there was no conversation between you two then you can also check by visiting the post where the second person has tagged you or to your post where the second person commented. So, this was the one method through which you can know when someone deactivates their Instagram account.
Search Username on a Browser
The easiest and definite method to check if someone has deactivated their Instagram account is by visiting a browser and searching for the username. To know how to search for a username through the Instagram website, follow the given steps.
Step 1. Open your phone browser.
Step 2. Type Instagram and click enter.
Step 3. The option that appears first is the Instagram website.
Step 4. Click on it and you will land on the Instagram website which will ask you to enter your login details.
Step 5. Enter your username, email address, or phone number. After this enter your Instagram password and click on log in.
Step 6. Tap on the search icon and enter the username of the account you want to check if it is deactivated or not.
Step 7. If you see the message that this username is not available then it is most likely that the user has deactivated his or her account but guess what, it is also possible that you are blocked by that user. To confirm this, follow the given steps.
Step 8. Go to the profile icon.
Step 9. Scroll down to the Log out option.
Step 11. It will then ask you to enter your password. After successfully entering your password click on the logout option.
Step 12. Once you have successfully logged out of your account close your Instagram website.
Step 13. In your browser, search Instagram.com/username. Here, the username would be the username of the account you want to see is deactivated or not.
Step 14. After the search, if you still find the message that tells you that the username or page is not available then it is sure that the user has deactivated the Instagram account. However, if you do not find the message instead you see the profile picture then it is confirmed that the user has blocked you.
Ask Your Friend to Search the Account
This method is easier but you will have to put aside your secrecy and ask your friend to search the username for you in his or her Instagram account. This method can be a little bit awkward for some. If possible you can also take your parent’s phone as it won’t make you feel that uncomfortable. In this, you have to make sure that the user’s profile is not available to be seen by you through your Instagram handle. For this, you can follow method one.
Once you are done with the first method, you can ask your closest friend to search the username for you on his or her Instagram. But make sure, this user is not connected with the person in any way. If this user too can not find the username then it is clear that the user has deleted their account.
There can be many reasons behind deleting any Instagram account or no reason at all. Whatever the reason, people who are in contact with these users get a little worried if they got blocked by them or if they have deactivated their account. If you are one of those users, then to stop you from scratching your head, this article is being brought where you saw how you can know when someone deactivates their Instagram account.